In 2008, the Bigfork Valley Hospital Board of Directors felt that it was important to look at additional ways that it could help to strengthen our local communities within our hospital district and support their growth into the future. As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, the Foundation is able to apply for grants and raise revenue through giving campaigns and other activities. As a foundation that is dedicated to the enrichment of the communities we serve - as well as ensuring our citizens continued access to quality health care - we are able to identify area needs and make recommendations on how to meet those needs.

Board of Directors

  • Gail Blackmer (Chair)
  • Rounds, Meredie (Secretary)
  • Karels, Joel (Treasurer)
  • Morneau, Meredith
  • Gallagher, Diane
  • Zeine, Nancy
  • Saude, Aaron
  • Fisher, Jef
  • Swanberg, Bill

About the Bigfork Valley Hospital District
and its Communities…

Originally sponsored by the Village of Bigfork, in 1975 state legislation allowed the hospital to expand its ownership by transferring it from the City of Bigfork to a Hospital District. The first members of the district were the City of Bigfork and the townships of Marcell, Stokes, Liberty and Bigfork.

Today the Northern Itasca Hospital District includes the following:

  • Cities of Big Falls, Bigfork and Effie
  • Townships of Bigfork, Carpenter, Marcell, Pomroy, Stokes and Wirt
  • A number of unorganized townships of Itasca and Koochiching counties

Bigfork Valley
Community Foundation

PO Box 44
Bigfork, MN 56628


Contact Info
©Copyright 2011-2024 Bigfork Valley Community Foundation |  Designed by White Ivy Design & Marketing, Serving Northern Minnesota